“Trust Your Gut, Becks”

Hey friends! I hope that those attended the Open House last weekend had a great time. It was really bittersweet as I’m graduating and it reminded me of my first March Open House way back in 2011. There’s a Storify of the Open House event that you can view here. Remember that you can join the #GL2019 Facebook group to get to know other potential Glendonites and to connect with Glendon’s eAmbassadors like myself.

At the event, I was talking to a fellow eAmbassador Jasmine about my experience with Political Science. As a Fourth Year nearly graduating, I’m really happy that I picked Political Science. And now, I’m ready to complete a post-grad certificate in Public Administration. I have a general idea of where I want to go in life and that makes me feel very relieved.

https://i2.wp.com/38.media.tumblr.com/tumblr_lpngwl9QfP1qi97guo1_r1_500.gif

Although, something had completely slipped my mind until this conversation. I suddenly remembered that I hadn’t always felt as though I was in the right program. In my First Year, I had gone through a moment of “is this program right for me?” and so, I thought it might be a good thing to blog about for this week.

Disclaimer: It is totally okay to switch your major. It is totally okay to feel a little worried in your first year. It is totally okay to change your mind. For me, this experience was a reminder to trust my gut and I’m happy I did. But this advice is totally subjective – everyone’s university experience is different.

I knew in Grade 11 or 12 that I was interested in the area of immigration and that I might, at one point, be interested in working for the Canadian Border Services. I had spoken to my Grade 11 civics teacher at the time about what university program would fit me best since there isn’t a degree in “Canadian Border Services or something like that….maybe Citizenship and Immigration Canada?”.

She advised me that Political Science might be a good option for me. It would be a great foundation for whatever I want to pursue after my undergraduate studies. Political Science can open the door for careers in the public sector, in politics, law school, journalism, communications, etc. After thinking about it for some time, I decided that I would apply for Political Science.

September 2011 came and I was a First Year at Glendon College studying Political Science. It was so surreal. But, I remember heading to my Introduction to Canadian Politics course and feeling slightly overwhelmed. I felt as though everyone participating knew so much more than I did. I was interested in politics but I definitely didn’t know everything.

https://i1.wp.com/25.media.tumblr.com/53cdca253159bac8cd4866afcb3c4276/tumblr_n01g8zOoEV1qk08n1o1_500.gif

About a month in, I felt as though I needed a quick fix. I felt as though my knowledge and involvement in politics wasn’t at the same level of everyone else and I panicked. I sent a text to my parents and let them know that I wanted to switch to Sociology and that it would all be fine. I switched my program and I felt kind of relieved…but not entirely. It was as though I had to keep rationalizing my decision to switch out of Political Science to be okay with it.

I would say probably a week later I had what some would call “an epiphany”. It really was though. I suddenly thought to myself and I quote, “no Becks, you got this. You know what your goals are in life and you picked Political Science for a reason”. In short, I was telling myself to trust my gut and myself.

https://i1.wp.com/forevertwentysomethings.com/wp-content/uploads/2014/10/self-five.gif

I knew that I wanted to work for the Canadian government at some point in my life and that Political Science revolved around learning about government, public policy, public administration, etc. The program was a good match for my ambitions in life. And I knew that I had thought long and hard about what program to apply for; it certainly hadn’t been a rushed decision.

So, I switched back. And I’m very happy that I did. If you would like to read more about my experience as a Political Science major, click here.

If you have any questions about Political Science or Glendon, you can tweet me @beckielhgl or you can comment in the #GL2019 Facebook group and tag me in the post under ‘Beckie Louise’.

Until next week!

Leave a Reply

